Minnesota's minimum-wage rate changes Jan. 1, 2018

Fact sheets and updated workplace poster are available


October 30, 2017

Minnesota's minimum-wage rates will be adjusted for inflation beginning Jan. 1, 2018, to $9.65 an hour for large employers and $7.87 an hour for other state minimum wages.

To help employers understand the requirements, the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) has updated its minimum-wage fact sheets at http://links.govdelivery.com:80/track?type=click&enid=ZWFzPTEmbXNpZD0mYXVpZD0mbWFpbGluZ2lkPTIwMTcxMDI3LjgwMDYwMDYxJm1lc3NhZ2VpZD1NREItUFJELUJVTC0yMDE3MTAyNy44MDA2MDA2MSZkYXRhYmFzZWlkPTEwMDEmc2VyaWFsPTE4MTI1NDU3JmVtYWlsaWQ9aW5mb0ByZWRsYWtlbmF0aW9ubmV3cy5jb20mdXNlcmlkPWluZm9AcmVkbGFrZW5hdGlvbm5ld3MuY29tJnRhcmdldGlkPSZmbD0mZXh0cmE9TXVsdGl2YXJpYXRlSWQ9JiYm&&&101&&&http://www.dli.mn.gov/MinWage?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery and its minimum-wage workplace poster at http://links.govdelivery.com:80/track?type=click&enid=ZWFzPTEmbXNpZD0mYXVpZD0mbWFpbGluZ2lkPTIwMTcxMDI3LjgwMDYwMDYxJm1lc3NhZ2VpZD1NREItUFJELUJVTC0yMDE3MTAyNy44MDA2MDA2MSZkYXRhYmFzZWlkPTEwMDEmc2VyaWFsPTE4MTI1NDU3JmVtYWlsaWQ9aW5mb0ByZWRsYWtlbmF0aW9ubmV3cy5jb20mdXNlcmlkPWluZm9AcmVkbGFrZW5hdGlvbm5ld3MuY29tJnRhcmdldGlkPSZmbD0mZXh0cmE9TXVsdGl2YXJpYXRlSWQ9JiYm&&&102&&&http://www.dli.mn.gov/Posters?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery.

An estimated 250,000 hourly workers in Minnesota will earn less than $9.65 an hour.

"In 2014, I worked with the Legislature to raise the minimum wage in Minnesota. Now that law demonstrates its full benefit as incomes rise for more than 250,000 Minnesotans and their families who are working hard to lift themselves out of poverty," said Governor Mark Dayton.

"Our state and nation were founded on the belief that hard work and opportunity should go hand in hand. Raising the minimum wage will help make this value a reality for thousands of Minnesotans, many of them people of color and women with children," said Lieutenant Governor Tina Smith. "This increase is good news and we have more work to do so that all Minnesotans can earn their way to economic security for themselves and their families."

"This is good news for Minnesota's lowest-wage workers and will help them earn more to provide for their families," said Ken Peterson, commissioner, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.

As of Jan. 1, 2018:

• Large employers must pay at least $9.65 an hour when the employer's annual gross revenues are $500,000 or more.

• Small employers must pay at least $7.87 an hour when the employer's annual gross revenues are less than $500,000.

• The training wage rate, $7.87 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment.

• The youth wage rate, at least $7.87 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 18 years of age.

Workplace poster

Minnesota law requires employers to display some state-mandated posters in a location where employees can easily see them. The posters are available at no cost and need to be updated only when Minnesota law changes. DLI will translate the minimum-wage poster into Hmong, Somali and Spanish and add those posters online in November.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 09/06/2023 23:18