Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Leech Lake Election Board Certifies General Election Results

CASS LAKE-The Leech Lake Election Board has certified the results of the 2024 General Election held on June 11, 2024, on the Leech Lake Reservation.

The MCT General Election was held to decide the positions of Chairperson and District III Representative. Elections were also held for Leech Lake Housing Authority Board of Commissioners and Bug O Nay Ge Shig School Board.

For the position of Tribal Chairperson, Faron Jackson Sr. (Incumbent) secured the win with 1073 votes or 62.75%, while Gerald White received 637 votes or 37.25%.

In the race for District III Representative, Leon Staples Jr. emerged victorious with 740 votes or 61.62%, and Glen "Tuffy" Fisher garnered 461 votes or 38.3%.

The Leech Lake Housing Authority Board of Commissioners election results are as follows: In District I, Petra Rodriguez won with 125 votes (59.81%). In District II, Mikele Finn was victorious with 83 votes (100%). In District III, Evelyn Brown secured the position with 332 votes (43.57%).

The Bug-O-Nay-Ge-Shig School Board election results were also finalized: Rose Robinson won in District I with 195 votes (100%). Shirley Young was the winner in District II with 98 votes (100%). Esther Humphrey emerged victorious in District III with 512 votes (72.73%.

The Election Board thanks all voters for their participation in this critical election and congratulates the newly elected officials. The community looks forward to their leadership and service in the coming term.

Official, certified results available here:

Details for the July 2024 Inauguration Ceremony will be released in the next few weeks.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 07/22/2024 04:37