Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Beltrami County 2021 DWI All-stars


August 16, 2022

Front row: Beltrami County Deputy Nick Lewis. Back Row left to right: Bemidji Police Officer Rachel Kniss, Beltrami County Sergeant Nicholas Bender, Hubbard County Sergeant Tony Petrie, Hubbard County Sergeant Seth Kuhn and Beltrami County Deputy Brandon Newhouse.

To honor those who excelled at keeping Minnesotans safe from impaired drivers in 2021, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Office of Traffic Safety (DPS-OTS) recognized 61 officers, troopers, deputies and prosecutors. They represent the DWI Enforcer All-Star team and were honored during Minnesota Twins pre-game activities at Target Field on Sunday, Aug. 7.

Beltrami County had three deputies honored during the ceremony, 2-time DWI All-star Sergeant Nicholas Bender, 2-time DWI All-star Deputy Brandon Newhouse, and Deputy Nick Lewis. They are leading the charge in Beltrami County's quest towards zero deaths.

"When you see these DWI arrest numbers, think about how each number represents a potential life-saver," said DPS-OTS Director Mike Hanson. "And not just your life or the lives of innocent loved ones on the road. Because of the efforts of the DWI All-Stars, impaired drivers are in the back of a squad car, not an ambulance or hearse. It's an opportunity to change behaviors, seek help and stay alive."

Enforcement Protecting Lives from Impairment Dangers on the Road

In 2021, the All-Stars made 4,193 combined DWI arrests across Minnesota. Their efforts contributed to the more than 24,000 DWI arrests made by all of law enforcement last year.

Alcohol, cold medicine, prescription medication, recently legalized THC edible products or any other drug can contribute to impairment and a DWI. The All-Stars' commitment to the safety of drivers, passengers, motorcyclists, bicyclists and pedestrians is protecting innocent lives.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021