Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Beltrami Electric Cooperative Annual Meeting Election Results 2021


August 27, 2021

Lineworker Logan Mistic demonstrates what happens when a contact with high voltage power lines happens.

(BEMIDJI, MN) Beltrami Electric Cooperative held its 81st annual meeting on Wednesday, August 11, 2021, at the Beltrami County Fairgrounds. Around 739 members and guests attended the first annual Beltrami Electric Night at the Fair, where they were greeted by Touchstone Energy® mascots LED Lucy and Solar Sam. Fairgoers also enjoyed a free concert in the grandstand, watched a live high voltage electrical safety demonstration and were able to get a ride in the bucket of a Beltrami Electric line truck.

Pictured with Solar Sam and LED Lucy: Chris, Cade and Rebeka Henriksen

Members attended the business meeting at the Marilyn Shutter Country Stage, which featured a financial update from Director of Finance and Corporate Services Arlene Hogquist, as well as a cooperative update from President and CEO Jared Echternach. Sharon Lembke, president for the Beltrami Electric Cooperative Trust Board for Operation Round Up®, presented on the success of the program. The board recognized Judy Honer for her years of service as a director on the BEC board of directors.

The election results were as follows: In District 3, candidate Michael Monsrud received 1,094 votes and Charles (Charlie) Parson received 766 votes. Incumbent District 6 director John Lund ran unopposed and received 1,729 votes. In District 9, candidate Sharon Lembke ran unopposed and received 1,724 votes. In addition, the 2020 annual meeting minutes were approved by majority vote of the members.

Next year's Annual Meeting/Night at the Fair is tentatively scheduled for Wednesday, August 10, 2022, at the Beltrami County Fairgrounds.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021