Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

The Native American Journalists Association selects six fellows for virtual curriculum


NORMAN, Okla. – The Native American Journalists Association has selected six students, including three returning fellows, for the Native American Journalism Fellowship (NAJF) class of 2021.

With the cancellation of NAJA’s national convention due to COVID-19, the 2021 class will participate in a virtual curriculum with selected veteran mentors. This innovative experience will be designed to leverage the advantages of online learning and hands-on professional experience while promoting the health and wellbeing of all Indigenous student journalists.

Fellows will be eligible to receive three hours of college credit at the undergraduate or graduate level through their respective universities.

Student fellows will work remotely with mentors to produce coverage of Indian Country on a range of topics during the fall semester.

Mentors for the Class of 2021 include:

• Jourdan Bennett-Begaye (Diné), Indian Country Today

• Frank Blanquet (Maya), FNX | First Nations Experience

• Graham Brewer (Cherokee), NBC News

• Darren Brown (Cochiti Pueblo), CATV | Cheyenne and Arapaho Television

• Victoria LaPoe (Cherokee), Ohio University

“As was the case last year, NAJA’s Education Committee wanted to provide opportunities for as many students as possible,” NAJA Education Committee Chairwoman Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton (Cherokee) said. “However, we also wanted to make sure that we did not over promise and under deliver on the quality, which is particularly challenging when considering all the lingering impacts of COVID-19. We are excited to work with this year’s class and fervently hope to offer an in-person student newsroom in 2022.”

NAJA awards $50,000 in total scholarships to five Indigenous journalism students

OKLAHOMA CITY — NAJA partnered with the Facebook Journalism Project to establish the NAJA-FPJ Scholarship in 2018 to support quality journalism that strengthens and connects communities.

For the 2021-2022 school year, NAJA will award five scholarships of $10,000 each to Indigenous students pursuing careers in media.

The 2021 NAJA-Facebook Scholarship recipients were announced via livestream on the NAJA Facebook page co-hosted by NAJA Education Committee Chairwoman Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton and NAJA President Francine Compton on Friday, July 16 at 12 p.m. CST.

NAJA will award a total of $250,000 in scholarships through the Facebook Journalism Project. Students who applied but were not selected in 2021 are encouraged to re-apply in the future.

Scholarships are one way NAJA supports Indigenous journalism at every stage of members’ careers. NAJA student members can also apply for the annual Native American Journalism Fellowship, NBC News Summer Fellowship, NAJA-NYU Journalism Scholarship and other training opportunities throughout the year.

About the Native American Journalists Association

NAJA serves more than 900 members, including media professionals working in tribal, freelance, independent and mainstream news outlets, as well as academia and students covering Indigenous communities and representing tribal nations from across North America.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021