Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association Names Waseca Officer Arik Matson Police Officer of the Year


New Brighton, MN (May 19, 2021) - The Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association (MCPA) announced today that Waseca Police Officer Arik Matson is the 2020 recipient of its prestigious Police Officer of the Year Award. Matson was shot and severely injured on January 6, 2020 while responding to a report of a suspicious person.

The MCPA also recognized 13 additional officers from agencies across the state for their compassion for the citizens they serve and their commitment to keeping their communities safe.

“These awards call out some of the best, brightest and bravest men and women in Minnesota law enforcement, but police chiefs across our state also today want to recognize the great work that goes unnoticed from the vast majority of police officers in agencies of all sizes, urban and rural,” said MCPA President Eric Werner, police chief in Maple Grove, MN.

Chief Werner says the Police Officer of the Year Award is given to an officer whose actions exceed expectations after having been injured, faced imminent personal hazards to life above and beyond the call of duty, and demonstrated courage in dangerous or emergency conditions which resulted in the successful resolution of the situation.

Other members of the Waseca Police Department who were part of the incident on January 6 have also been recognized for their actions. Captain Kris Markeson, Sergeant Tim Schroeder, and Officer Andrew Harren have each been awarded the Medal of Honor and the Lifesaving Award. Matson was also awarded the Medal of Honor.

The 2021 recipients will be formally recognized at the MCPA’s Annual Statewide Awards Banquet on November 2, 2020. Here is a complete list of the 2020 MCPA Award Winners.


• Brooklyn Park: Officer Matthew Rabe

• Hibbing: Officer Joey Burns

• Savage: Detective Pat Miller & Detective Gabe Kerkaert


• Avon: Chief Corey Nellis

• Waseca: Captain Kris Markeson, Sergeant Tim Schroeder, Officer Andrew Harren


• Bloomington: Officer Mike Perron and Officer Carla Magaard

• Brooklyn Park: Officer Andrew McComb, Officer Eli Dwyer

• Waseca: Captain Kris Markeson, Sergeant Tim Schroeder, Officer Andrew Harren, Officer Arik Matson


• Spencer Notch, Avon Public Works


• Waseca: Officer Arik Matson


• Burnsville: Officer Adam Medlicott

About the MCPA

The Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association (MCPA) is a non-profit professional member organization whose mission is to provide the highest quality of police services and leadership to the people of Minnesota. The vision is to be the recognized voice for professional law enforcement in Minnesota. The MCPA represents approximately 500 police chiefs and command staff at municipal and state law enforcement agencies across Minnesota. For more, visit


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022