Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Chief Executive Named to federal law enforcement selection committee

Senators Klobuchar and Smith will bring together a group of distinguished Minnesota leaders to head search


February 10, 2021

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith announced the formation of a selection committee to assist them in making recommendations to the President for candidates to serve as U.S. Attorney and U.S. Marshal for Minnesota.

The Committee will be chaired by John Choi, Ramsey County Attorney, with the following members: Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive of the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe; Amran Farah, attorney at Greene Espel and former President of the Minnesota Association of Black Lawyers; David Lillehaug, former Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court and a former U.S. Attorney for the District of Minnesota; Cecil Naatz, Managing Attorney of the Public Defender’s Office in Marshall, Minnesota; Thomas Smith, Training Director for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and former Chief of Police for the St. Paul Police Department; and Patricia Tototzintle, Chief Executive Officer of Casa de Esperanza.

“These distinguished Minnesota leaders will come together to help select the next U.S. Attorney and U.S. Marshal for our state who will work to uphold justice and protect all Minnesotans,” said Senator Klobuchar. “These positions are critical to keeping our state and communities safe. I am confident that this committee will find candidates who are committed to the promise of equal justice under law for all.”


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020