Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

By Michael Barrett

Red Lake School Board: Pemberton, Barrett, Jourdain, Neadeau, Desjarlait and Stately advance to General Election in November


August 12, 2020

RED LAKE, MN – At about 2 AM on Wednesday, August 12, 2020, the 5 of 5 precinct results came in on the 7 candidates who filed for 3 positions on the Red Lake School Board.

With low voter turnout from all precincts on the Red Lake Indian Reservation, Robert Pemberton received the most votes with 218, incumbent Michael Barrett received 176, incumbent Chris Jourdain received 173, Patricia Neadeau had 169, incumbent Jack Desjarlait had 168, Tina Stately with 149, and Susan Ninham received 105 votes.

Robert Pemberton 218 18.83%

Michael Barrett 176 15.20%

Chris Jourdain 173 14.94%

Patricia Neadeau 169 14.70%

Jack Desjarlait 168 14.51%

Tina Stately 149 12.96%

Susan Ninham 105 9.13%

The results of the Clearwater Precinct were not available at the time of this printing, so the above numbers might change. It is also unclear if absentee ballots were counted or not at this time.

The top six candidates will advance to the November 2020 General Election, of which voters will select 3. All but Ninham will be on the November Ballot.

In January 2019 Red Lake changed from a 6-member board, to a 7-member board.

By Minnesota Law the first Monday in January each year, newly elected school board members' terms of office begin, and school boards must meet to organize for the year. New Board Members must be sworn into office and organize by selecting a chair, clerk and a treasurer who will hold that office for one year until their successors are selected and qualify.

See also:


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020