Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Chickasaw Nation Announces Candidates For General Election


Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced today the candidates seeking four legislative seats and one judicial seat within the Chickasaw Nation. The filing period closed at 4:30 p.m.,Wednesday, June 3, 2020.

Incumbent Supreme Court Justice Cheri L. Bellefeuille-Gordon, Sulphur, was unchallenged and will retain Seat 3 on the court.

Pontotoc District Seat 4 will be filled by incumbent Karen Goodnight, Goldsby, as she was unchallenged for the seat.

J. Lisa Impson, Ada, will retain Pontotoc District Seat 3, as she was unchallenged.

Pickens District Seat 2 incumbent legislator Connie Barker, Marietta, will face challenger Michael T. Watson, Ardmore.

Incumbent legislator Steven Woods, Davis, will retain Tishomingo District Seat 3 as no challengers filed for the office.

The candidates who did NOT receive a challenger will be elected by a one vote margin, by the act of filing for office shall be counted as an affirmative vote.

Registered Chickasaw voters will vote by mail ballots, with ballots being mailed to registered Chickasaw voters July 9, 2020.

Ballots must be returned to the Chickasaw Nation Election Commission no later than 10:30 a.m., July 28, 2020. No hand delivered ballots will be accepted.

The Chickasaw Nation Election Commission shall conduct and supervise the ballot counting beginning at 11 a.m., July 28, 2020, at the Chickasaw Community Center in Ada. Results of the elections shall be announced the same day.

Voter registration closes July 7.

For more information, contact Ms. Loder at (580) 310-6475.

Candidates filing are as follows:


Pontotoc District

Seat 3 J. Lisa Impson, Ada - no challenger

Pontotoc District

Seat 4 Dr. Karen Goodnight, Goldsby – no challenger

Pickens District

Seat 2 Connie Barker, Marietta - Incumbent

Seat 2 Michael Thomas Watson, Ardmore

Tishomingo District

Seat 3 Steven Woods, Davis – Incumbent – no challenger

Supreme Court:

Seat 3 Cheri L. Bellefeuille-Gordon, Sulphur - Incumbent – no challenger


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 07/03/2020 08:34