Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

14 Candidates File for 4 Red Lake Reservation District Representative Seats


March 23, 2020

RED LAKE, MN - Fourteen Red Lake Band of Chippewa members filed for 4 seats up for election on Wednesday, May 20, 2020. All seats are 4-year terms of office.

The election shall be conducted in accordance with the rules and regulations as set forth in the Constitution of the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians and Chapter 1800 of the Tribal Code as revised in Resolution No. 1-12 of January 10, 2012.

Those up for election include Glenda Martin, Ponemah District Representative, Allen Pemberton, Redby District Representative, Robert "Bob" Smith, Red Lake District Representative, and Michelle Barrett Cobenais, Little Rock District Representative.

Any enrolled member of the Red Lake Band 18 years of age and over on Election Day shall be entitled to vote in this election. The deadline to update your address and District is Wednesday, April 15, 2020. The Enrollment Office telephone number is 218-679-3341.

The first day to file for candidacy was Friday, March 6, 2020 and the last day was Saturday, March 21, 2020 at 4:00 PM. The deadline to withdraw from candidacy is Wednesday, April 15, 2020.

A candidate must win a majority of votes to be elected. If no candidate achieves the required majority, a run-off election between the candidates with the two highest vote totals shall be conducted. Preliminary election results shall be available after 8 PM on Wednesday, May 20, 2020. The certified results shall be posted on Thursday, Mat 21, 2020 throughout the Reservation.

Filing for Red Lake Representative were: Robert "Bob" Smith, Incumbent, David F. Desjarlait and Donovan M. May.

Filing for Redby Representative were: Allen D. Pemberton, Incumbent, Sheldon "Skin" Brown, Herman D. Donnell, Kevin L. Jones, Gary R. Auginash, Sr., Michael J. Cobenais and Rodney D. Prentice, Jr.

Filing for Ponemah Representative was: Glenda J. Martin, Incumbent.

Those filing for Little Rock District Representative were: Michelle Barrett-Cobenais, Incumbent, Sherilyn (Tweety) Neadeau-Benais and Chris G. Jourdain.

Notice of Red Lake Election 2020:


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 07/11/2020 19:32