Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Beltrami County DFL Announces February 25th Precinct Caucus Locations


February 21, 2020

The Beltrami County Democratic-Farmer-Labor (DFL) members will gather on Tuesday, February 25, 2020 to learn about this year's candidates, debate resolutions for the Party Platform, elect new precinct chairs, and select delegates for the upcoming conventions. Registration starts at 6:30 p.m. and the caucus begins at 7 p.m. The meeting sites are specific for each precinct and can be found online at For the precincts meeting at Bemidji Middle School, a chili dinner will be available for caucus attendees at cost between 5:30 and 6:30 p.m. The primary for presidential candidates is a separate event to be held the following Tuesday on March 3.

"Our precinct caucuses signal the start of the 2020 elections in Minnesota, which are sure to be some of the most fiercely contested political battles in our state's history," said DFL Chairman Ken Martin. "The way we win in 2020 is by organizing and building power at the grassroots level, which is exactly what DFLers will be doing in community centers and school gymnasiums across Minnesota. The DFL is a people-powered party and our precinct caucuses give everyone, from seasoned activists to the newly engaged, a chance to weigh in on the party's platform, elect local leaders, and shape the future of the DFL. I encourage all Minnesotans to attend their precinct caucuses, engage with their neighbors, and make their voices heard."

Curtiss Hunt, Chair of the Beltrami County DFL added, "I encourage everyone to double check their caucus meeting site as many have changed since 2018. We're making every effort to increase a sense of community by having precincts in the same geographical area meet and caucus at a common location. This gives folks a chance to get better acquainted with their precinct neighbors."

Meeting locations are:

• Beltrami County DFL Headquarters, 1510 Bemidji Ave N, for Bemidji Ward 1 and 3 voters.

• Bemidji Middle School, 1910 Middle School Ave. for voters from Bemidji Ward 2, 4, and 5, Alaska, Bemidji, Buzzle, Durand, Eckles, Frohn, Grant Valley, Hagali, Jones, Lammers, Liberty, Maple Ridge, Moose Lake, Nebish, Northern, Port Hope, Roosevelt Township, Solway, Sugar Bush, Ten Lake Township, Tenstrike, Turtle Lake Township, Turtle River, Turtle River Township, Wilton, and Unorganized District 3.

• Blackduck High School, 156 East First St NE for voters in Battle Township, Blackduck, Birch Township, Cormant Township, Funkley, Hines Township, Hornet Township, Kelliher, Kelliher Township, Langor Township, O'Brien, Quiring, Shooks Township, Shotley Township, Summit Township, Taylor Township, Waskish Township and Woodrow Township.

• Our Saviors Lutheran Church at 37408 Hamre Rd. NW for voters from Benville Township, Hamre, Lee, Minnie, Spruce Grove, Steenerson Township and Unorganized Districts 1 and 2.

• The Ponemah Community Center for Ponemah voters at 25003 Abinoojiinah Drive.

• Red Lake Nation College, 15480 Migizi Dr for Red Lake Agency, Little Rock and Redby voters.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019