Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

You thought you deleted your Facebook account, but it's still there. Now what?

 

April 17, 2019

Richard Drew – Associated Press

Users learn there's a difference between a deleted Facebook account and a deactivated one.

Q: I recently received an e-mail from Facebook, eight years after "deleting" an account that I used for about three months. When I clicked the link to unsubscribe to future e-mails, I was taken to a Facebook page to confirm my choice. From there, I was able to review a history of my account. While nothing had been posted since 2011, there was a record of "me" logging-in in March 2019 from an IP [Internet Protocol] address that, when I Googled it, was from Russia.

Should I be concerned about this? Are there other steps I should take to protect my identity? Can you ever really delete a Facebook account?

http://www.startribune.com/you-thought-you-deleted-your-facebook-account-but-it-s-still-there-now-what/508270742/

 

Reader Comments
(0)

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019