Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Cecelia Mann Oakgrove (Giizhiganan – Morning Star)


January 2, 2019

Cecelia Mann Oakgrove

February 1, 1928 - December 25, 2018

Cecelia Mann Oakgrove, 90 of Red Lake, MN began her journey to the spirit world on December 25, 2018 at the Red Lake PHS Hospital.

Tradition funeral services will begin at 10:00 am, Friday, January 4, 2018 at the Redby Community Center with spiritual leader Steve Jackson. A wake will begin on Wednesday afternoon, January 2, 2018 at the Redby Community Center and continue until the time of service on Friday. Interment will be at the Fox Point Cemetery in Redby, MN under the direction of the Cease Family Funeral Home of Bemidji.

Cecelia was born on February 1, 1928 to James and Marie Mann in Squaw Point area.

Cecelia was united in marriage to Lawrence Oakgrove, Sr. in Redby, MN where they raised 8 children and lived most of her life. Cecelia was a loving and caring mother, grandmother and to all those who knew her. She enjoyed visiting family and friends, loved riding the old back roads and loved the outdoors. She loved cooking and making a home for her children and friends.

Cecelia was welcomed to the spirit world by her parents, James and Marie Mann, husband Lawrence (Majebenais) Oakgrove, Sr., son, Larry, Jr. (Dodge), daughter, Roselind (Sugar), grandsons, James Smith, Jr., Donald Oakgrove, Jr., Roger Oakgrove, Jr., granddaughter, Constance Marie Oakgrove, special daughter-in-law, Melvina "Tiny" Jackson.

Cecelia is survived by sons, Donald "Zeke" Oakgrove, Red Lake, MN, Roger Oakgrove, Sr., Minneaplis, MN, Raliegh Oakgrove, Bagley, MN, Ron (Donella) Oakgrove, St. Louis Park, MN, and Charles Oakgrove, Ball Club, MN, daughter, Janice (Ivan) Oakgrove of Minneapolis, MN, special daughters, Charolette Clark, Sharon Sumner, and Pearl Mitchell, many grandchildren and great grandchildren.

Pallbearers will be Melvin Jackson, Rodney Jackson, Ron Oakgrove, Jr., Tyler Graves, Chuck Oakgrove, John Oakgrove, Andrew Oakgrove, and Larry Googleye.

Honorary pallbearers will be Emery Madiagain, Lean and Gaby Aguilar, Lori Smith, Agnes Smith, Linda Smith, Donella Long Soldier, Sharon Sumner, Adelina Oakgrove, Pearl Mitchell, and Cheyenne Smith.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019