Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

25 applicants selected to interview for University of Minnesota Board of Regents


December 14, 2018

(St. Paul, MN, December 13, 2018) Twenty-five candidates for four vacancies on the University of Minnesota Board of Regents were selected to be interviewed by the Regent Candidate Advisory Council (RCAC) at their meeting on December 12, 2018. The RCAC announced the vacancies in September and received a total of 47 applications.

Four of the twelve seats on Board of Regents are open for appointment every two years, each representing a six-year term. The positions to be filled in 2019 include one from Minnesota’s fifth congressional district, one student statewide at large seat and two statewide at-large seats.

“This really was a stellar year in terms of the number and quality of applicants,” said RCAC Chair Daniel Wolter. “There is a lot of interest in serving the State of Minnesota in this way. We’re excited to meet these 25 candidates, before making recommendations to the Legislature – and are grateful to everyone who applied.”

The RCAC is a 24-member advisory council established by the Minnesota State Legislature to recruit, screen, and recommend regent candidates for election by the Legislature. The interviews in this round will be held January 7-10, 2019, and are open to the public. The RCAC must recommend to a Joint Legislative Committee between two and four individuals for each open position on the Board. The Joint Committee selects one candidate for each open position, and submits this slate of candidates for consideration by the full Legislature sitting in Joint Convention. Under the Minnesota Constitution, the Joint Convention elects Regents to the Board.

Following are the names of the candidates to be interviewed by the RCAC for each open regent seat:

Fifth District:

• Allison Barmann, Edina

• Kelly Doran, Minneapolis

• Peggy Lucas, Minneapolis

• Janie Mayeron, Minneapolis

Student Statewide At-Large:

• Andrew Brichacek, Morris

• James Farnsworth, Minneapolis

• Mary Franz, Duluth

• Thomas Keller, Minneapolis

• Mike Kenyanya, Duluth

• Sara Kettering, Minneapolis

• Joshua Preston, Minneapolis

Statewide At-Large:

• Lynn Abrahamsen, St. Paul

• Susan Adams Loyd, Edina

• Lester Bensch, Ashby

• Mary Davenport, Mankato

• Robert Eddy, Big Lake

• Kao Ly Her, Maplewood

• Kim Isenberg, Minneapolis

• Carol Johnson-Dean, Bloomington

• Dean Johnson, Willmar

• Bill Luther, Minnetonka

• Leona Moore, Minneapolis

• Abdul Omari, Minneapolis

• Donovan Schwichtenberg, Edina

• Sandy Wiese, Eagan

Questions or comments about candidates can be forwarded to RCAC Staff at


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019