Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

By Michael Barrett

Barb Thomas, Robert McClain, Marcus Tyler and Roy Nelson win in Red Lake School Board race


November 8, 2018

RED LAKE - There will be two new Red Lake School Board members that will be sworn-in in January 2019, along with incumbents Barb Thomas and Roy Nelson, Sr. The two new board members are Marcus Tyler and Robert McClain. At that time, the Red Lake School Board will move from a 6-member board, to 7-members.

Current Board Member Barb Thomas had the most votes with 662, followed by newcomer Robert McClain with 655, newcomer Marcus Tyler with 583 and current board member Roy Nelson coming in with 578.

They will join current board members Michael Barrett, Jack Desjarlait and Chris Jourdain when they take office in 2019.

Coming in 5th with 531 was Victor Roy Jr., Nathaniel Taylor with 452, Write-In Candidates with 419, Alyss B. Mountain with 365 and Cheryl Schoenborn 339.

Also approved by voters with 995, YES and 187, NO, was SCHOOL DISTRICT QUESTION 1 (ISD #38), approval to Incur Indebtedness with a Maximum Effort Capital Loan. The question was: Shall the School Board of Independent School District No. 38, Red Lake Minnesota be authorized to incur indebtedness of the District in the amount not to exceed $14,000,000 for the acquisition and betterment of school sites and facilities at the Red Lake Early Childhood Center and Red Lake Elementary School, by applying for a loan from the State of Minnesota's maximum effort school loan fund? Approve Maximum Effort Loan of $14,000,000 for School District Buildings?

The Red Lake School Board will meet at 2 PM on Friday, November 9, 2018 in a Special Meeting to certify the results of this election.

Newly elected Board members will be sworn-in and take office at the first meeting in January 2019.

Official Count:


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019