Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Minnesota ABOTA Honors Ninth Judicial District Judge Lois J. Lang as Trial Judge of the Year


October 2, 2018

ABOTA President Susan M. Holden (R) and Judge Lois J. Lang (L)

Saint Paul, Minn. (Oct. 1, 2018) – The Minnesota Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA) presented its 2018 Trial Judge of the Year Award to Ninth Judicial District Judge Lois J. Lang. Judge Lang was honored at the Chapter's Annual Meeting in July in St. Paul.

Minnesota ABOTA recognized Judge Lang for her excellence in the conduct of jury trials, her enduring professionalism, and her commitment to civility. Judge Lang was appointed to the bench in 1994 by Governor Arne Carlson. She was the first woman appointed to the bench in the Ninth Judicial District, which includes 17 counties in the northwest corner of the state and encompasses approximately 30 percent of the state. There, she served as Assistant Chief Judge and then Chief Judge during her 24 years on the bench. Judge Lang retired on July 6, 2018.

ABOTA is an organization of experienced and ethical trial lawyers whose mission is to preserve the right to a civil jury trial guaranteed by the 7th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, and to elevate the standards of integrity, honor, ethics, civility, and courtesy in the legal profession.

About Minnesota's Ninth Judicial District

Minnesota's Ninth Judicial District serves the counties of Aitkin, Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, and Roseau. The District is served by 28 judges. In 2017, more than 62,000 cases were filed in Ninth Judicial District courts.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 03/12/2019 22:24