Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

CIE To Host Candidate Forums

State, County, & City Forums, for Primary & General Elections

The Citizens for an Informed Electorate (CIE) will host forums for both the Primary election (August 7), and General Election. (October 30 and November 1, 2018) We hope to aid the electorate in getting to know better candidates running for local offices, State Representative, Beltrami County Commissioner, and Bemidji City Offices prior to the August 14 Primary and November 6 General Election.

The forums will be televised live on First City cable TV Channel 2. All forums will be recorded and later streamed on Northern Community Radio's website (KAXE/KBXE) and rebroadcast on First City TV.

Moderators will be Maggie Montgomery, station manager for Northern Community Radio (KAXE/KBXE) and Michael Naylor, retired Bemidji business owner.

The CIE formed in 2008, seeks to provide an outlet for the public to gain more knowledge about candidates in order to make an informed decision at the polls.

The forums will allow candidates to make opening and closing statements. Moderators will collect written questions on 4 x 6 index cards from the audience, screen them for duplication or pertinence, direct them to candidates, rotating who answers first. Questions should cover the gamut of issues, as forums are open to the public.

The CIE represents a cross section of citizens and media members who want to provide opportunities for the public to know the candidates and issues. We include Michael Meuers, Michael Naylor, Dennis Montgomery, Maggie Montgomery, and Rachelle Houle. Please plan on joining us.

Sponsored by Northern Community Radio (KAXE/KBXE) and Michael Naylor.

Celebrating Ten Years, 2008 – 2018

Citizens for an Informed Electorate Candidate Forum Calendar for Primary & General Elections, 2018 Bemidji City Hall

Primary Forum:

Date Office Time

Tuesday, August 7 City of Bemidji, At Large Councilor 6:00 p.m.

Tuesday, August 7 Beltrami County Commissioner, Dist. 1 7:30 p.m.

General Election Forums:

Date Office Time

Tue, October 16 School Board 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, October 30 Bemidji City Wards 2, 4 and At Large 6:00 p.m.

Tuesday, October 30 City Mayor 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, November 1 Beltrami County Dist. 1 Commissioner 6:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 1 Senate District 2A and 5A 7:30 p.m.

Forum Rules:

 Any candidate not participating will not preclude any and all others from participating.

 There will be no props, no signs, no t-shirts. Campaign buttons or name tags are allowed as well as campaign brochures which may be handed out or displayed on a table.

 Video cameras are prohibited except by accepted media and CIE taping. CIE retains copyright on it's taping, and although CIE will make available a copy to candidates for their personal use for a nominal fee, the DVD copy may not be edited or used for any campaign purpose.

 Each candidate will have a two-minute opening and closing.

 Each candidate will have one and a half minutes to answer questions. (Timers will be used)

 Order of speaking for the opening and closing will be decided by lot.

 The moderators will alternate who answers question between the candidates so no candidate need always answer first.

 Questions will come from the audience and written on 4 x 6 cards.

 The moderators will screen questions for appropriateness, duplication, diversity, etc.

 During the event what the moderators decide is law.

 All Un-asked questions will be read at the end of the forum, so that candidates will know the mood of the electorate.

Candidate List


Senate District 2A

Michael Northbird

51507 Wildwood Road NW Unit 4

Cass Lake, MN 56633


Matthew J. Grossell, GOP State Rep

107 Hazel Ave. N. (PO Box 777, Bagley 56621)

Clearbrook, MN 56634


Senate District 5A

John Persell, DFL State Rep

2435 Staghorn Lane SE

Bemidji, MN 56601

(218) 760-9088

(218) 751-2770

Matt Bliss, GOP State Rep

26851 Roadrunner Dr. NE

Pennington, MN 56663

(218) 766-5267

Beltrami County Offices

Heather Broda, Distirct 1, Commissioner

15691 Okerlund Rd. SE

Cass Lake, MN 56633


Craig Gaasvig, Distirct 1, Commissioner

13375 Gull Lake Loop Road NE

Bemidji, MN 56601


Natalie Grosfield, Distirct 1, Commissioner

12827 Birchview Drive NE

Bemidji, MN 56601


Richard Anderson, District 3 Commissioner (Unopposed)

7278 Lammers Road NW

Solway, MN 56678


JoDee Treat, Beltrami County Auditor/Treasurer (Unopposed)

11834 Hillcrest DR NE

Bemidji, MN 56601

(218) 308-3794 cell, 218-333-4175 work

David Hanson, Beltrami County Attorney (Unopposed)

3383 Mohawk DR NW

Bemidji, MN 56601

(218) 209-8475 mobile, 218-333-4219 work

Ernie Beitel, Beltrami County Sheriff (Unopposed)

15849 Thoren Drive NW

Solway, MN 56678

(218) 760-0922

Bemidji City Council

Rita Albrecht, Mayor

1911 Norton Ave. NW

Bemidji, MN 56601

Joe Vene, Mayor

1415 Birchmont Dr. NE

Bemidji, MN 56601


Michael Beard, Ward 2 Councilor

726 33rd St NW

Bemidji, MN 56601

(218) 368‐4992

Jaime Thibodeaux, Ward 2 Councilor

736 26th St NW

Bemidji, MN 56601

(225) 810‐5591

Richard Lehmann, Ward 4 Councilor

1426 Irvingside Lan Sw

(218) 766‐4055

Emelie Rivera, Ward 4 Councilor

725 17th St NW

Bemidji, MN 56601

218) 760‐5552

Lawrence Hanenberger, At Large Councilor

2424 Park Ave NW Apt. 14

Bemidji, MN 56601

(507) 993‐3084

Don Heinonen, At Large Councilor

415 Gould Ave. NE

Bemidji, MN 5601

(218) 556-9689

Jim Thompson, At Large Councilor

930 Old Rail Way SW

Bemidji, MN 56601

(218) 444‐8338


Reader Comments(0)