Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Chickasaw Nation announces candidates for general election

Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced today the candidates seeking four legislative seats and one Supreme Court seat within the Chickasaw Nation. The filing period closed at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, June 6, 2018.

Incumbent legislator Toby Perkins of Ada, will retain Pontotoc District Seat 1, as he was unchallenged.

Incumbent legislator Nancy Elliott of Ada will retain Pontotoc District Seat 2, as she was unchallenged.

Incumbent legislator Scott Wood of Tishomingo will retain Tishomingo District Seat 1 as he was unchallenged.

Pickens District Seat 1 incumbent legislator David Woerz will face challenger Michael T. Watson of Ardmore.

Pickens District Seat 4 incumbent legislator Shana Tate Hammond of Ardmore will face Robert “Robby” Rogers of Ardmore.

Incumbent Supreme Court Justice Linda English Weeks of Newcastle was unchallenged and will retain Seat 2 on the court.

The candidates that did NOT receive a challenger will be elected by a one vote margin, by the act of filing for office shall be counted as an affirmative vote.

Registered Chickasaw voters will vote by mail, with ballots being mailed to registered Chickasaw voters July 12, 2018.

Ballots must be returned to the Chickasaw Nation Election Commission no later than 10:30 a.m. July 31, 2018. No hand delivered ballots will be accepted.

The Chickasaw Nation Election Commission shall conduct and supervise the ballot counting beginning at 11 a.m. July 31, 2018, at the Chickasaw Community Center in Ada. Results of the elections shall be announced the same day.

For more information, contact Ms. Loder at (580) 310-6475.

Candidates filing are as follows:


Pontotoc District

Seat 1 Toby Perkins, Ada – Incumbent, no challenger

Seat 2 Nancy Elliott, Ada – Incumbent, no challenger

Pickens District

Seat 1 David Woerz, Ardmore - Incumbent

Seat 1 Michael T. Watson, Ardmore

Seat 4 Shana Tate Hammond, Ardmore – Incumbent

Seat 4 Robert “Robby” Rogers, Ardmore

Tishomingo District

Seat 1 Scott Wood, Tishomingo – Incumbent – no challenger

Supreme Court:

Seat 2 Linda English Weeks, Newcastle - Incumbent – no challenger


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/09/2024 21:11