Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

First of Six Candidate Forums held in Little Rock

LITTLE ROCK DISTRICT - The first of six scheduled candidate forums was held at the new Little Rock Community Center on Tuesday, April 17, 2018, beginning at 6 PM.

Certified Candidates running for Tribal Chairman, Tribal Secretary, Tribal Treasurer and two Little Rock Representatives were there, each receiving an introduction, moderated questions, and questions and answers from the audience.

The next Candidate Forum is scheduled for Thusday, April 19, 2018, 6 PM at the Red Lake Center.

Four more forums will be held on Monday, April 23, 2018 at the New Redby Center at 6 PM; Wednesday, April 25, 2018 at the Ponemah Boys and Girls Club at 6 PM; Saturday, May 5, 2018 at Denfield High School in Duluth, MN at 1 PM; and Sunday, May 6, 2018 at the American Indian Center in Minneapolis, MN at 1 PM.

The first day to file for candidacy was Friday, March 2, 2018 and the last day was Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 4:30 PM. The deadline to withdraw from candidacy was Wednesday, April 11, 2018.

According to the Notice of Election on the Tribe's Website, any eligible voter for any reason may cast an Absentee ballot. The Absentee Ballot Committee shall be available starting on Saturday, April 21, 2918 at the Red Lake Government Center, Red Lake, MN. Weekend voting, Monday-Friday from 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM through May 11, 2018; Weekend voting, Saturday and Sunday from 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM through May 13, 2018; and Election Day from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM.

The Absentee Ballot Committee can be reached at 218-679-3341 and members of the committee will be available at the Minneapolis American Indian Center on Monday, May 14, 2018 from 8 AM to 8 PM to receive Absentee Ballots. The address is: 1530 East Franklin Ave., Minneapolis, MN. Absentee ballots must be returned in person or mailed to and received by the Chairperson, Absentee Ballot Committee, P. O. Box 544, Red Lake, MN, 56671, on or before 8 PM on Wednesday, May 16, 2018.

A candidate must win a majority of votes to be elected. If no candidate achieves the required majority, a run-off election between the candidates with the two highest vote totals shall be conducted. Preliminary election results shall be available after 8 PM on Wednesday, May 16, 2018. The certified results shall be posted at 10 AM on Thursday, Mat 17, 2018 throughout the Reservation.

Those filing for Tribal Chairman were: Darrell G. Seki, Sr., Incumbent; Floyd "Buck" Jourdain; Vince Brown; Jim White; and Williamette Hardy-Morrison.

Filing for Tribal Secretary were: Sam Strong; Tim Sumner; Michael Barrett; Donovan "Mikinaakoons" Sather; and Darwin Sumner.

Filing for Tribal Treasurer were: Annette Johnson, Incumbent;; Cheryl Marie Thomas; Chad Prentice; and LaNae Pemberton.

Filing for Red Lake Representative were: Jordan May, Donald L. Good, Sr .; Michael A. Iceman; Julie Stately; Dean J. Branchaud; David F. Desjarlait; Karen L. Graves; Clem H. May, Sr .; Paul Smokey Smith; and Lee Lussier, Jr.

Filing for Redby Representative were: Julius "Toady" Thunder, Incumbent; Sheldon "Skin" Brown; Lester (Moe) Loud; John Wayne Dudley; Thomas Westbrook; Maureen Thunder Lyons; and Kevin L. Jones.

Filing for Ponemah Representative were: Gary L. Nelson, Incumbent; and Chele D. Kakstabakken.

Those filing for Little Rock District Representative (4-year term) were: Robert "Charlie" Reynolds, Incumbent; Adrian Beaulieu; and Ron Lussier.

Filing for Little Rock Representative (remaining 2-year term) were: Michelle (Barrett) Cobenais; William (Billy) Greene; Katherine "Kathy Spears" Dudley; and Marlon Blue.

Those filing had to be certified by the Tribal Election Board to remain on the election ballot. The deadline for posting of the certified candidates list was Monday, April 16, 2018.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/21/2024 15:00