Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Red Lake Candidates Certified

On Tuesday, April 10, the Red Lake Tribal Council certified the attached list of candidates.

If a candidate receives 50% of the vote plus one in the general election on May 16, they are the declared winner. If no one attains this threshold in any or all seats, a run-off election will be scheduled sixty days after the conclusion of all certifications, challenges or recounts...probably mid to late July.

The Red Lake Tribal Council at their February monthly meeting, set the dates for the 2018 tribal election. All three officers and one representative from each of four districts will be elected or reelected to four-year terms. Two representatives from each community on the reservation, Little Rock, Red Lake, Redby and Ponemah, and three officers, Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer, make up the eleven member tribal council.

Do to the recent passing of Little Rock Representative Richard Barrett, his seat will also be included in the election for a candidate to finish his two-year term.

2018 Election Timeline

Friday, March 2, 2018 – First day to file for candidacy

Saturday, March 17, 2018, 4 pm, - Last day to file for candidacy. Preliminary candidates list is posted. Preliminary eligible voters list is posted

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - Deadline for voter change of residency. Deadline for withdrawal of candidacy. Final eligible voters list is posted

Monday, April 16, 2018 - Deadline for district election boards to be appointed. Deadline for posting of the certified candidates list

Saturday, April 21, 2018 – Absentee balloting begins

Wednesday, May 9, 2018 – Deadline for ballot counting watchers

Friday, May 11, 2018 – Deadline for Election Day Poll Observers

Monday, May 14, 2018 – Absentee Ballot committee in Minneapolis, MN

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 – ELECTION DAY, Polls open 8:00 am – 8:00 p.m., Absentee ballots are due by 8:00 pm.

Thursday, May 17, 2018 – Posting of the certified election results

Tuesday, May 22, 2018 – Deadline for contesting the election

Friday, June 1, 2018 – Deadline for the General Election to rule on requests for election contests (if any)

Monday, July 16, 2018 – If the election is uncontested, the run-off election must be held before this date

Thursday, July 26, 2018 – If the election was contested, the run-off election must be held before this date

https://docs.google.com/document/d/e/2PACX-1vQRR-zvvgm_Xk2zSnPDDIL9aBYKJ8BRg7SwJ_r5_5YcTquE1htOSU8gxkwPgvW90Rk-2tKlrOGrcsS_/pub

 

Reader Comments(0)

 
 
Rendered 04/20/2024 16:24