Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Forty-two Red Lakers file for Tribal Office; 8 seats up for election on May 16, 2018

RED LAKE, MN – Forty-two Red Lake Band of Chippewa members filed for 8 seats up for election on Wednesday, May 16, 2018. Seven seats are each 4-year terms, while the 8th seat is for the remaining term of the Little Rock Representative vacancy caused by the passing of Richard Barrett this year. That seat is a 2-year term and will come up for election again in 2020, when it normally comes up for election.

The election shall be conducted in accordance with the rules and regulations as set forth in the Constitution of the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians and Chapter 1800 of the Tribal Code as revised in Resolution No. 1-12 of January 10, 2012.

Those up for election include Darrell G. Seki Sr., Chairman; Annette Johnson, Treasurer; Gary Nelson, Ponemah District Representative; Julius Thunder, Redby District Representative; Roman Stately, Red Lake District Representative; and Robert Reynolds, Little Rock District Representative. There is no incumbent for the Secretary's Office due to the passing of Donald Cook in 2017, along with no incumbent for the 2-year Little Rock District Representative.

Red Lake Representative Roman Stately is not running for reelection this year, which will guarantee at least 3 new council-persons will be elected-the Secretary, a Red Lake Representative and a Little Rock Representative.

Any enrolled member of the Red Lake Band 18 years of age and over on Election Day shall be entitled to vote in this election. The deadline to update your address and District is Wednesday, April 11, 2018. The Enrollment Office telephone number is 218-679-3341.

The first day to file for candidacy was Friday, March 2, 2018 and the last day was Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 4:30 PM. The deadline to withdraw from candidacy is Wednesday, April 11, 2018.

According to the Notice of Election on the Tribe's Website, any eligible voter for any reason may cast an Absentee ballot. The Absentee Ballot Committee shall be available starting on Saturday, April 21, 2918 at the Red Lake Government Center, Red Lake, MN. Weekend voting, Monday-Friday from 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM through May 11, 2018; Weekend voting, Saturday and Sunday from 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM through May 13, 2018; and Election Day from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM.

The Absentee Ballot Committee can be reached at 218-679-3341 and members of the committee will be available at the Minneapolis American Indian Center on Monday, May 14, 2018 from 8 AM to 8 PM to receive Absentee Ballots. The address is: 1530 East Franklin Ave., Minneapolis, MN. Absentee ballots must be returned in person or mailed to and received by the Chairperson, Absentee Ballot Committee, P. O. Box 544, Red Lake, MN, 56671, on or before 8 PM on Wednesday, May 16, 2018.

A candidate must win a majority of votes to be elected. If no candidate achieves the required majority, a run-off election between the candidates with the two highest vote totals shall be conducted. Preliminary election results shall be available after 8 PM on Wednesday, May 16, 2018. The certified results shall be posted at 10 AM on Thursday, Mat 17, 2018 throughout the Reservation.

Those filing for Tribal Chairman are: Darrell G. Seki, Sr., Incumbent; Floyd "Buck" Jourdain; Vince Brown; Jim White; and Williamette Hardy-Morrison.

Filing for Tribal Secretary were: Sam Strong; Tim Sumner; Michael Barrett; Donovan "Mikinaakoons" Sather; Thomas J. Cain, Jr .; and Darwin Sumner.

Filing for Tribal Treasurer were: Annette Johnson, Incumbent;; Cheryl Marie Thomas; Chad Prentice; and LaNae Pemberton.

Filing for Red Lake Representative were: Jordan May, Donald L. Good, Sr .; Michael A. Iceman; Julie Stately; Dean J. Branchaud; David F. Desjarlait; Karen L. Graves; Clem H. May, Sr .; Paul Smokey Smith; and Lee Lussier, Jr.

Filing for Redby Representative were: Julius "Toady" Thunder, Incumbent; Sheldon "Skin" Brown; Lester (Moe) Loud; John Wayne Dudley; Thomas Westbrook; and Maureen Thunder Lyons.

Filing for Ponemah Representative were: Gary L. Nelson, Incumbent; and Chele D. Kakstabakken.

Those filing for Little Rock District Representative (4-year term) were: Robert "Charlie" Reynolds, Incumbent; Adrian Beaulieu; and Ron Lussier.

Filing for Little Rock Representative (remaining 2-year term) were: George Chi-Noodin Spears, Jr .; Michelle (Barrett) Cobenais; William (Billy) Greene; Katherine "Kathy Spears" Dudley; Thomas Barrett, Jr .; and Marlon Blue.

Those filing will have to be certified by the Tribal Election Board to remain on the election ballot. The deadline for posting of the certified candidates list is Monday, April 16, 2018.

Preliminary Candidates List May 2018:


Reader Comments(0)