Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Chickasaw talent cops two NAMMY nods; Injunuity in the hunt


Injunuity, the Ada-based Native American band which has earned two NAMMY awards, is up for another this year for "Record of the Year." Band members are, from left to right, percussionist Brian Harrison, guitarist Jeff Carpenter, flutist Brad Clonch and bassist Philip Sullivan.

ADA, Okla. – "Toward the Rising Sun," the theme song of the movie "Te Ata" and the Nashville songstress performing it have been nominated for "Single of the Year" and "Artist of the Year" respectively.

Tabitha Fair, a Chickasaw Nation citizen, is one of the most sought-after harmony and backup vocalists in the music industry. She has worked with such mega stars as Celine Dion, Faith Hill, Elton John and Rascal Flatts. Her career has spanned 30-plus years and has taken her around the world.

Her dynamic vocal talent was nominated by the Native American Music Awards (NAMMY) as "Artist of the Year." Fair sang lead vocal and performed several harmonies to her own lead on "Toward the Rising Sun."

The song – written by Chickasaw Nation employees Jeff Carpenter, Brad Clonch, Philip Sullivan, Brian Harrison and Harley Lewis – is up for "Single of the Year."

Tabitha Fair is shown making the music video "Toward the Rising Sun" in August 2015.

Additionally, the Native American band Injunuity, comprised of Carpenter, Clonch, Sullivan and Harrison, will be competing for "Record of the Year" during this year's NAMMY voting competition. The band's nomination – for the album titled "Mahli," is unrelated to "Te Ata" the movie, although Injunuity members contributed talents to write and musically arrange "Toward the Rising Sun."

Music lovers have already begun voting and anyone may cast one vote per day until winners in all categories are selected.

Visit, click "vote now" and choose "Toward the Rising Sun," "Tabitha Fair" and "Injunuity" to cast ballots for these outstanding Chickasaws.

It is not the first go-round for Injunuity and the NAMMYS. The group won "Debut Group of the Year" in 2007 and were awarded "Songwriters of the Year" in 2012.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 09/18/2021 13:38