Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Research and promotion councils elect new representatives

Potato, canola, edible bean, and sunflower reps announced


ST. PAUL, Minn. – Producers of four Minnesota commodities have recently elected members to serve on their respective research and promotion councils.

Minnesota’s commodity research and promotion councils play an important role in coordinating the ongoing development and promotion of farm products. Citing this valuable service offered by the councils, Minnesota Department of Agriculture Commissioner Dave Frederickson expressed his appreciation of producers who participated in the elections.

“Through commodity council elections, producers have a say in how their check-off dollars are spent,” Commissioner Frederickson said. “It’s very important that producers take advantage of this opportunity and I want to thank all the candidates and producers who took the time to participate in these elections.”

Winners of a seat on the board of directors are as follows:

MN Area 1 Potato Research and Promotion Council

Area 1 – Gorman Johnson, West Polk County

Sander Dagen, Kittson County

MN Canola Research and Promotion Council

District 1 – Tony Brateng, Roseau County

At Large – Robert Rynning, Kittson County

MN Dry Edible Bean Research and Promotion Council

District 2 – Norman Krause, Todd County

MN Sunflower Council

District 1 – Jerry C. Hasnedl, Pennington County


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 09/24/2021 16:20