Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

U.S. Senate bill could give five Southeast "landless" Native groups land


A U.S. Senate bill introduced last week could allow Alaska Natives in five Southeast communities to form urban corporations. Haines, Ketchikan, Petersburg, Tenakee, and Wrangell each stand to gain about 23,000 acres of land if the bill passes. But, the legislation does not come without controversy.

In 1971, more than 200 Native corporations formed under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, known as ANCSA. But, Haines, Ketchikan, Petersburg, Tenakee and Wrangell were left out of the landmark legislation.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021