Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

White Earth prepares for primary election


WHITE EARTH -- The White Earth primary election will take place from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. April 5. Elected positions to be filled are chairperson and District III representative. The top two candidates for each position receiving the most votes will move on to the general election on June 14, unless a candidate receives more than 50 percent of the votes, in which case that candidate will be declared the winner.

Candidates running for chairperson are Robert Durant, Winona LaDuke, Patrick Scott Sr., Terrance “Terry” Tibbetts Sr., Leonard Wadena, Diana King, James Jackson (Oshkinowe), Marvin Manypenny, Karen M. Manypenny, Melinda (Mindy) Iverson, Michael Dahl and Emily Annette.

Candidates running for District III representative are Mary Jo Basswood, Gordon “Gordy” Bellanger, Raymond Bellcourt, Margaret Rousu, Mary Rose Favorite, Kevin Hanks, Dennis Jackson, Merlin Deegan Sr., Rachelle “Rooney” Morris, Barbara Fabre and Eugene (Umsy) Tibbetts.

The community is invited to view the election results starting at 8 p.m. April 5 at the Golden Eagle Bingo Hall in Mahnomen.

For more information on the election, individuals are encouraged to call the White Earth Election Board at (218) 936-5622 or (866) 211-9154 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays.

The election office is located in the old RV registration building located behind the Shooting Star Casino in Mahnomen.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 12/28/2020 14:59