Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

DFL, GOP, Green Caucuses to be Held March 1

Beltrami DFL Convention To Be Held at Red Lake


Red Lake Political Education Committee

The Red Lake Political Education Committee (RL PEC) encourages all Red Lakers and all Minnesotans to show support for their preferred candidates by participating in the candidate endorsement process that leads up to the state and national party conventions.

It all begins on Tuesday, March 1, 2016 with the precinct caucuses. Going to a caucus is a great way to show support for a candidate, raise an issue that's important to you, influence who the party will endorse for many offices, and meet people in your community.

Never been to a caucus? Not sure how it works? Learn more about the process below!

What is a precinct caucus?

Precinct caucuses are meetings run by Minnesota's political parties. They are the first in a series of meetings where parties endorse candidates and set goals and values (called the party platform).

In 2016, a major part of precinct caucuses will be to vote for the person you want your political party to support for President in the presidential preference ballot.


Beltrami County DFL Party Caucuses

Democrats from around Beltrami County will gather March 1, 2016, for the DFL Party's biennial precinct caucuses. The Beltrami County DFL caucuses will be held at multiple locations throughout the county. (Listed below)

At the caucuses, DFLers will cast a Presidential-preference ballot. They will also debate resolutions that any caucus attendee may introduce for possible inclusion into the Minnesota DFL Party's platform, elect precinct chairs for the next two years and select delegates for the April 10 Beltrami County Convention to be held at high noon at Red Lake Tribal College in Red Lake as well as the District 2 Endorsing Convention at the Community Center at Ogema, MN.

Caucuses begin at 7:00 p.m. on March 1, while Presidential-preference balloting will conclude at 8 p.m. Ballots may only be cast in person; no absentee balloting allowed.

Anyone who will be eligible to vote in Minnesota by Nov. 8, 2016, may vote in the Presidential-preference ballot. Anyone age 16 or over may participate in caucus business.

A list of all caucus locations statewide is available at


Local Calendar

Beltrami County Convention, Sunday, April 10, 2016, Red Lake Nation College at high noon (Delegates and alternates are those who were elected at precinct caucus)

SD 2 Endorsing Convention, Saturday, March 19, 2016 Community Center, Ogema (Delegates and alternates are those who were elected at precinct caucus)

SD 5 Endorsing Convention - April 23, Deer River Vets Club (Delegates and alternates are those who were elected at precinct caucus)

7th CD Convention - April 30, Courtyard by Marriott, Moorhead (Delegates and alternates are those who were elected at county conventions)

8th CD Convention - May 6-8, Holiday Inn, Duluth (Delegates and alternates are those who were elected at county conventions)

State Convention - June 4, Orchestra Hall, Minneapolis (Delegates and alternates are those who were elected at county conventions)


Feb. 20: South Carolina GOP Primary, Nevada Dem Caucus

Feb. 23: Nevada GOP Caucus

Feb. 26: GOP debate, Houston, NBC/Telemundo/National Review

Feb. 27: South Carolina Dem Primary

March 1: Super SEC Tuesday - AL, AK (GOP), AR, CO (Dems), GA, MA, MN, OK, TN, TX, VT, WY (GOP)

March 9: Dem debate, Miami, Univision/Washington Post

March 10: GOP debate, Florida, CNN and Salem Radio

March 15: Super Tuesday 2 - FL, IL, MO, NC, OH


Beltrami County DFL Precinct Caucus Sites (GOP and Green Caucus Sites Follow)

BSU Hobson Union, Crying Wolf Room, 1500 Birchmont Drive, Bemidji, MN 56601

Bemidji W-1

Bemidji W-3

JW Smith School, 1712 America Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601

Bemidji W-2

Bemidji W-4

Northern School, 8711 Irvine Ave NW, Bemidji, MN 56601

Hagali Twp

Northern Twp P-01

Northern Twp P-02

Port Hope Twp


Turtle Lake Twp

Turtle River

Turtle River Twp

Northwest Technical College, 905 Grant Ave SE, MN 56601

Bemidji Twp

Bemidji W-5

Frohn Twp

Moose Lake Twp

Sugar Bush Twp

Ten Lake Twp

Unorg Dist 3

Eckles Community Center, 9735 Cardinal Road, Bemidji, MN 56601

Eckles Twp

Grant Valley Twp

Jones Twp

Lammers Twp

Liberty Twp



Roosevelt Town Hall, 25053 Debs Road NW, Shevlin, MN 56676

Alaska Twp

Battle Twp

Buzzle Twp

Maple Ridge Twp

Nebish Twp

O'Brien Twp

Quiring Twp

Rooseevelt Twp

Our Savior's Lutheran Church, 37408 Hamre Rd NW, 56727

Benville Twp

Hamre Twp

Lee Twp

Minnie Twp

Spruce Grove Twp

Steenerson Twp

Unorg Dist 1

Unorg Dist 2

Ponemah Community Center, Ponemah, MN, Convener Roy Nelson

Ponemah Prec

Red Lake Community Center, Red Lake, MN, Convener Stephanie Cobenais

Red Lake Prec

Redby Community Center, Convener Michael Stillday

Redby Prec

Little Rock Community Center, Convener Ed Strong

Little Rock Prec

Blackduck City Hall, 8 Summit Ave NE, Blackduck, MN

Birch Twp


Cormant Twp

Durand Twp


Hines Twp

Hornet Twp


Kelliher Twp

Langor Twp

Shooks Twp

Shotley Twp

Summit Twp

Taylor Twp

Waskish Twp

Woodrow Twp

Republican Precinct Caucuses on Tuesday, 3/1/16

Beltrami County locations:

Bemidji High School

Blackduck High School

Kelliher High School

Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Grygla

Caucus starts at 7:00pm. Agenda will include a binding vote for our Republican candidate for President, consideration of state GOP platform change resolutions and election of delegates and alternates to county convention.

Beltrami County Republican Convention on Saturday, 4/9/15

Bemidji High School at 9:00am

Agenda to include the election of delegates and alternates to congressional district and state conventions and consideration of platform resolutions proposed at caucus.

Delegates and alternates are those who were elected at precinct caucus.

Green Party Caucus


Lueken's Village Foods South

Store Meeting Room

The Red Lake Political Education Committee is Celebrating 20 Years 1996 - 2016

For More Information Contact: RL PEC Co-Chair Michelle Paquin 679-1875, RL PEC Secretary Michael Meuers 218-766-6588 or and RL PEC member


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 01/11/2021 22:49