Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Peggy Flanagan wins seat in House District 46A

Wins Special Election for State Rep


Peggy Flanagan

Peggy Flanagan, a White Earth member becomes the first American Indian from this area to serve in the Minnesota Legislature since Leech Lake member Harold "Skip" Finn served in the Senate back in the mid-90's in a special election held Tuesday, November 3, 2015. She joins Susan Allen as he second American Indian woman elected to the state legislature, and the first enrolled Ojibwe since Skip Finn.

Peggy Flanagan moved quickly following State Rep. Ryan Winkler's surprise announcement that he would resign from the Legislature because his family is moving to Europe several months ago.

Flanagan, a well-connected DFLer who is now executive director of the Children's Defense Fund-Minnesota, said she'd run for the seat. She's previously worked at Wellstone Action and Minnesotans United for All Families.

Flanagan, 35, lives in St. Louis Park, and says she's a U of M grad and a citizen of the White Earth Nation of Ojibwe. She and her husband have a 2-year-old daughter.

Flanagan said in the statement announcing her run:

"My mom and I moved to St. Louis Park when I was a baby. As a single mother, she chose this community because of the opportunities that it provided for good public education, stable neighborhoods, and economic security, and she was right. My family and I settled in my hometown for the same reasons, and now I want to give back."

Susan Allen, Rosebud Sioux, elected in 2012

Susan Allen was the first female Native American to serve in the Minnesota Legislature. "Susan is Lakota, Dakota and Anishinabe." (2012 Campaign Website)

Her father was from the Pine Ridge Reservation and her mother was from the Rosebud Reservation, both in South Dakota. Her father was an Episcopal priest. She was a member of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe in South Dakota.

"Minnesota Democrat Susan Allen made history January 10 as the first Native American Lesbian to be elected to a U.S. State legislature." (Indian Country Today, January 13, 2012) She was the second openly lesbian member to serve in the Minnesota Legislature.

Self-Reported American Indian Legislators in Minnesota

Bailly, Alexis

Native American Territorial House 1849 (District 7)

Faribault, Alexander - "Alex."

Native American Territorial House 1851 (District 7)

Warren, William Whipple

Native American Territorial House 1851 (District 6)

Gingras, Antoine Blanc - "Frederick" Native American Territorial House 1852-53 (District 7)

Roy, Peter

Native American Territorial House 1854 (District 5); House 1859-60 (District 21); House 1862 (District 3)

Susan Allen

Bailly, Henry G.

Native American Territorial Council 1856-57 (District 6); Democratic Constitutional Convention 1857 (District 6); Senate 1857-58 (District 3)

Bennett, Sr., Willard F. - "W.F."

Native American House 1933-42 (District 35)

DeGroat, Frank H.

Native American House 1963-66 (District 57); House 1967-72 (District 65A); House 1973-76 (District 10A)

Finn, Harold R. - "Skip"

Native American Senate 1991-96 (District 4)

Allen, Susan

Native American House 2012-2012 (District 61B); House 2013-Present (District 62B)


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 09/27/2020 15:03