Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Candidates Certified for Red Lake Tribal Election

Election to be Held May 14, 2014

Thirty-three candidates filed for three officer positions and four district representative seats on the Red Lake Tribal Council, and that same number were certified by the Red Lake Tribal Council at its regular monthly meeting on Tuesday, April 8, 2014. The deadline for filing was Saturday, March 15, 2014.

Candidates for tribal office at Red Lake must pass a criminal background check which is the reason for the three weeks that passed from filing to certification. According to the Executive Assistant to the Tribal

Secretary, Desirie Wilson, the election will be held Wednesday, May 14, 2014.

If a candidate receives 50% of the vote plus one, they are the declared winner. If no one attains this threshold in any or all seats, a run-off election will be scheduled sixty days after the conclusion of all certifications, challenges or recountsŠprobably in late July or early August.

Certified for Red Lake Tribal Chairman were incumbent Floyd "Buck" Jourdain, Kathryn "Jody" Beaulieu, Ron Lussier, and current Red Lake Tribal Treasurer Darrell G. Seki, Sr.

Incumbent Don Cook Sr. was certified for reelection as Tribal Secretary, along with Rochelle "Chelle" Kingbird, Judy Roy, Sam Strong, and Jim White.

Candidates certified for Treasurer are Michael Barrett, Annette Johnson, Lee Lussier, Jr., Glenda J. Martin, and Cheryl Schoenborn. Red Lake will have a new Tribal Treasurer in May as earlier noted, since the current Treasurer

Darrell G. Seki, Sr., has filed for Chairman.

Incumbent, Gary L. Nelson, Sr., was certified for reelection as Ponemah District Representative, along with challengers Clifford C. Hardy, and Eugene Perkins.

For Red Lake Representative, Roman "Ducker" Stately was certified for reelection. He'll be challenged for that seat by David F. Desjarlait, Deanna K. Lasley, Donovan M. May, Robert L. May, Martin "Mott" Parkhurst, and Robert "Bob" Smith.

For the Redby District Representative, Julius "Toady" Thunder was certified for reelection, along with challengers John W. Dudley, Matt Sayers, Clayton Van Wert, and Thomas "Jambi" Westbrook.

The current Little Rock Representative, William "Billy" Green, did not file for reelection, resulting in a new Representative for that district. Those certified for that seat include, Adrian Lee Beaulieu, Katherine "Spears"

Dudley, Christopher Jourdain, and Robert "Charlie" Reynolds.


Reader Comments(0)