Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Leech Lake primary election set

BEMIDJI -- Polls are open today for members of the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe as the primary election takes place to narrow the field in three races: secretary/treasurer, District I representative, and District II representative.

The primary will reduce the field to two candidates in each race. The general election is set for June 10.

Candidates are:


• Nancy Beaulieu

• Rebecca Chase

• Donald J. Finn (incumbent)

• Donald J. Headbird

• Faron Jackson, Sr.

• Lance A. Kingbird

• Arthur "Archie" LaRose

• Louise "Weedy" Masten

• Herschel J. Ogema, Sr.

• Jennie (Wind) Reyes

• Noel "Ole" Thompson, Sr.

• Eugene "Ribs" Whitebird

District I:

• Christina Bowstring

• David A. Cronin

• Penny DeVault

• Milton Gotchie

• Lisa Kingbird Gullickson

• James Howard

• Tami K. Jackson (Bowstring)

• Phillip Johnson

• Burton "Luke" Wilson

• Roseanne Wilson

District II:

• Thomas Chase

• Arnold J. Dahl

• Steve White (incumbent)

Where and when to vote

Polls are open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In District I, polls will be at the following community centers: Inger, Ball Club and Squaw Lake. District I covers Ball Club, Deer River, Duluth, Inger, Squaw Lake, and Winnie Dam.

In District II, polls will be open at the following community centers: Bena, Sugar Point, and Smoky Point/Kego Lake. District II covers Bena, Boy Lake, Kego Lake, Smokey Point, and Sugar Point.

In District III, polls will be open in Cass Lake at the Dikinaagen Center; in Mission at the Ten Lakes Town Hall, and also at the following community centers: Onigum, Cass River and Oak Point. District III covers Bemidji, Cass Lake, Cass River, Mission, Oak Point, Onigum, Sugar Bush, Buck Lake, and the Twin Cities.

Polls also are open at the Bemidji City Hall, the Minneapolis American indian Center and at 202 W. Second St. in Duluth, Minn.


Reader Comments(0)