Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Lady Warriors upset in heartbreaking 70-66 loss to Clearbrook-Gonvick - P15

From KKCQ Radio Fosston

Section 8A East Championship – #3 Clearbrook/Gonvick 70 vs. #1 Red Lake 66


24-33 at the free throw line

20 turnovers

Liz Bodensteiner 27 points/10 rebounds (off the bench)

Madison Stenzel 21 points/9 rebounds/12-14 at the free throw line

Ashley Groshong 10 points/4 rebounds

Lauren McIntosh 4 points/4 rebounds

Esther Kjolhaug 3 points (three point shot)

Rachel Spray 3 points (three point shot)

RED LAKE: (17-4)

15-29 at the free throw line

24 turnovers

Averi Holthusen 31 points (5 three pointers)/11 rebounds

Grace White 9 points/7 rebounds (fouled out with 8:34 left in the game)

Sam Roy 8 points/5 rebounds

Sara Mountain 6 points

Clearbrook-Gonvick trailed by as many as twelve points in the second half. Clearbrook-Gonvick took the lead with :23 seconds left at 67-66.

The Bears played the Win-E-Mac Patriots Friday night at 7:00 pm in Thief River Falls for the Section 8A Championship.

Win E Mac defended their Section 8A title successfully with a commanding win over Clearbrook/Gonvick on Friday night at Ralph Engelstad Arena. The Patriots started out the game strong up 17-1 at one point and had a halftime lead of 47-16.

Win E Mac as a team had 26 rebounds, shot 10-20 from the free throw line, had 10 steals and 14 turnovers

Madison McKeever led the team with 23 points, Shelby Kaster with 19, Korbyn Ross nine.

Rebounded was led by Kaster with seven.

Patriots shot just over 50% in the game as a team and will take a 28-2 record into the Class A State Tournament next week.

Clearbrook/Gonvick ended the game with 28 rebounds, shot 8-13 from the line, had five steals and 24 turnovers

Bears were led by Madison Stenzel with 13 points, Liz Bodensteiner 11.

Rebounded led by Stenzel with 10, Ashley Groshong added five

Clearbrook/Gonvick ends their year with a 17-12 record graduating three seniors, Esther Kjolhaug, Hayley Reichert & Ashley Groshong.

The Class A State tournament will begin on Thursday, March 20th - this year the quarterfinal round will be held at Mariucci Arena on the University of Minnesota campus while the semifinal and championship will be held at Williams Arena on the U of M campus


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/10/2024 06:18