Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)


Program Resumes Support of Academic Degrees and Single Annual Selection Process

(Saint Paul, MN – Sept. 5, 2013) – The Bush Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2014 Bush Fellowship Program. The Foundation is also announcing several changes to the Bush Fellowship that aim to strengthen its ability to develop and support more leaders who are better equipped and better networked to effectively lead change. Starting in 2014, the Foundation will:

• Increase the maximum award from $80,000 to $100,000;

• Allow Fellows to use fellowship funds to pursue a graduate degree, or design their own program to develop their leadership skills and;

• Return to a single, annual selection process.

“Nearly 50 years ago, the Bush Foundation started making investments in people. Since then more than 2,200 Bush Fellows have made their mark on institutions and communities across our region,” said Lars Leafblad, leadership and engagement director for the Bush Foundation. “Our fellowship programs have evolved over the years, but our goal remains the same: find exceptional people and support their development as leaders.”

The Bush Foundation has been making grants to individuals since 1965. Previous fellowship programs include the Bush Leadership Fellows Program (1965-2010); the Bush Artist Fellows Program (1976-2010), expanded in 2007 as the Bush Artist Program, which included the Enduring Vision Awards; and the Bush Medical Fellows Program (1979-2009).

In 2010, the Foundation launched a single, two-year fellowship program – the Bush Fellowship Program – open to individuals from all sectors. The Bush Fellowship Program offers individuals an opportunity to develop their capacity for leadership and broaden their networks to more effectively lead change in their communities. The program is distinctive in its flexibility. Applicants design their own program to develop their leadership skills, which the Foundation funds. Ideal candidates are leaders who have already demonstrated exceptional gifts, who could benefit from intensive development through self-designed or academic programs, and who are committed to making the region a better place.

Applications for the 2014 Bush Fellowship Program will be accepted from September 5, 2013 until October 14, 2013. The Bush Fellowship Program is open to anyone age 24 years and older who lives in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota or one of the 23 sovereign nations that shares the same geographic area. For more information about eligibility criteria, visit

About the Bush Foundation

The Bush Foundation invests in great ideas and the people who power them. The Foundation was established in 1953 by 3M executive Archibald Bush and his wife, Edyth, and today works in communities across Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and the 23 Native nations that share the same geographic area. Learn more at


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/20/2024 06:10