Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Bemidji Speedway point races remain tight

BEMIDJI -- With just one week of regular season racing remaining at Bemidji Speedway, many point races are too close to call. Sunday night was Paul Bunyan Communications night at the track with many giveaways including a couple of bikes and helmets presented to the fans.

Once the features in the five classes were completed two first-time winners had rolled into "Victory Lane," -- Chris Dudley in the Minis and Kyle Oman in the Super Stocks. Also picking up feature wins were Josh Berg, his second in the Pure Stocks, Conrad Schwinn in the Mod Fours and Rick Jacobson in the Midwest Modifieds.

Next Sunday the track will host the Track Championships when the track champions in each class will be crowned.

Mini Stocks

Jenny Watrud grabbed the lead early with Chris Dudley charging into second. Watrud raced high in turn two and Dudley went low in the corner to take the lead and continue onto his first win the Mini Stock class. Watrud was second with Danny Brown, Andrew Hanson and Rebecca Church trailing.

Pure Stocks

An even dozen pure stocks rolled on track for their feature led by current point leader Weston Ramsrud on the pole and Josh Berg outside. Weston Ramsrud took the lead with Josh Berg, Al Sadek Jr, Kevin Baumgarner and Gary Nelson Sr. trailing. Following a lap of running side by side Berg raced inside coming out of turn four into the lead but contact between Berg and Ramsrud spun Berg and the caution flag waved, sending Ramsrud tailback for the restart. Berg held onto his lead position and picked up his second feature win of the summer. Kevin Baumgarner worked his way into second with Sadek Jr. and Nelson finishing in the top four. Ramsrud drove hard to regain important points late in the race and finished fifth.

Super Stocks

Kyle Oman took control early and captured the victory, holding off Rick Jacobson to pick up his first ever feature win in the Super Stocks. Keith Keena held onto third with Gary Nelson Jr. and Matt Sparby taking top five positions.

Midwest Modifieds

The race quickly had the fans standing and cheering as a three-wide battle coming out of turn four on the first lap had Davey Mills, Rick Jacobson and Ken Perry all vying for the lead. With Mills racing down the back straight, Jacobson raced to the outside around the leader to take the lead. A late pass by Bret Schmidt on the high side around both Matt Schow and Mills got him into second while Jacobson took the checkered flag. The final results showed Jacobson in front with Schmidt, Mills, Doyle Erickson and Schow in the top five.

Mod Fours

Late in the race Tyler Larson was on the bumper of the leader, Conrad Schwinn, and looking for an opportunity to make a move. But Schwinn is tough to beat once in the lead and the speedster took top honors with Larson close behind at the finish line. Mike Margl, Tonja Stranger and Chance Dyrdahl finished in the top five.

By Dennis Peterson, Special to the Pioneer

Mini Stock Feature — Chris Dudley, Jenny Watrud, Danny Brown, Andrew Hanson, Rebecca Church

Heat — D. Brown, C. Dudley, J. Watrud, A. Hanson, R. Church

Bemidji Pure Stocks Feature — Josh Berg, Kevin Baumgarner, Al Sadek Jr., Gary Nelson Jr., Weston Ramsrud, Jessie Barnum, Tyler Schow, Jessie Lutgen

Heat — A. Sadek Jr, J. Berg, W. Ramsrud, K. Baumgarner, G. Nelson Sr., J. Barnum, J. Lutgen

Wissota Super Stock Feature — Kyle Oman, Rick Jacobson, Keith Keena, Gary Nelson Jr., Matt Sparby, Nathan Higginbotham

Heat — G. Nelson Jr., K. Keena, R. Jacobson, N. Higginbotham, K. Oman, M. Sparby

Wissota Midwest Modified Feature — Rick Jacobson, Bret Schmidt, Davey Mills, Doyle Erickson, Matt Schow, Brandon Bahr, Trent Dyrdahl, Ken Perry Jr., Mike Johnson, Ken Perry Sr., Skyler Smith, Jerad Lene, Gary James Nelson

Heat 1 — M. Schow, B. Bahr, D. Erickson, G. James Nelson, T. Dyrdahl, J. LEne, M. Johnson

Heat 2 — D. Mills, K. Perry, R. Jacobson, S. Smith, K. Perry Jr., R. Reed.

Mod Fours Feature -- Conrad Schwinn, Tyler Larson, Mike Margl, Tonja Stranger, Chance Dyrdahl


Reader Comments(0)