Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

By Pat Miller
Bemidji Pioneer 

Blackduck's Volk wins North Star Conference honors


BLACKDUCK – Jeff Volk guided Blackduck to a 6-4 record this fall and the Drakes coach capped his season by being named the North Star Conference’s East Division Coach of the Year.

Blackduck players Shane Fenske and Trey Volk also received special conference honors as Fenske was named the East Division’s most valuable defensive lineman and Volk was named the division’s Offensive Player of the Year.

Fenske, a senior, and Volk, a junior, were joined on the East Division’s All-Conference first team by senior running back/linebacker Brady Gross and junior quarterback/defensive back Jake Krabbenhoft.

Representing Bagley on the East Division’s first team were senior running backs/defensive backs Kyler LaVine and Lucas Thompson, senior offensive and defensive lineman Chance Halverson, senior quarterback/linebacker Zach Thomas plus senior tight end/defensive lineman Aaron Leintz.

The Flyers finished with a 5-4 record.

Cass Lake-Bena, which had a 1-8 record, was represented on the East Division’s first team by senior running back/linebacker Anthony Swanholm and junior quarterback/linebacker Daven Staples.

The East Division’s honorable mention selections include Bagley seniors Jesse Dukek, Mason Clough and Jacob Powell, Blackduck seniors Zach Jones and Dylan Weisert and Drakes sophomore Cooper Jedlicka plus CL-B seniors Chance Tsuji and Jordan Collins and Panthers’ junior Erik Jones.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 09/26/2022 07:48