Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

By Pat Miller
Bemidji Pioneer 

2012 title run brings state baseball record for BHS


MINNEAPOLIS - The Bemidji baseball program set a Minnesota High School League record last weekend as the Lumberjacks made their 20th trip to the state baseball tournament.

In the previous 19 appearances the Lumberjacks have claimed the championship once – in 1973 – and finished as the runner-up in 1956 and 1986. BHS placed third place in 1969 and 1982.

In 1956, Bemidji fell 4-2 to St. Paul Washington and in

1986 BHS lost 13-2 to Cretin.

Add 2012 to the list of second-place finishes after a 1-0 loss Monday to Eastview in a game dominated by pitching.

The 1982 team defeated Minneapolis Washburn 5-1 in the third-place game while the 1982 squad drilled Hill-Murray 8-3 for third.

The program also has three consolation crowns, claiming that prize in 1957, 1962 and 1974.

The 1973 title run was fueled by pitching. Earl Sargent and Andy Kannenberg formed an impressive 1-2 starting rotation which spearheaded an 18-4 campaign.

During the state tournament Sargent pitched the opener and threw a no-hitter. Kannenberg took the mound in the second game and pitched a one-hitter.

In the championship game, Sargent was scheduled to start but during the semifinal win he fouled a pitch off his foot and broke his toe.

Kannenberg took over and stopped Winona 3-1, throwing another one-hitter.

Bemidji’s usual starting cast that year included John Buckanaga behind the plate, Bob Olson at first, Don Wackwitz at second, Jim Conway at third, Charlie Meyers at short, Dave Droun in left, Mike Malmquist in center and Bob Johnson in right.

Among the reserves were Jim Grimm, Pete Maus, Mike Fairchild, Chet Berg, Dan Degerman, Brad Nelson and Randy Beck.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 06/26/2022 08:48