Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

White Earth incumbents re-elected


WHITE EARTH, MINN. – White Earth Chairwoman Erma J. Vizenor received 55 percent of the votes for Chairperson, and District III Representative Kenneth “Gus” Bevins received 56 percent of the votes for District III Committeeman during the White Earth Reservation Primary Election held Tuesday, April 3.

Since they received more than 50 percent of the votes, Vizenor and Bevins are automatically re-elected for another four-year term and do not need to move on to the General Election which was scheduled for June 12.

Vizenor received 1,126 votes, followed by Kenneth M. Colman Jr., 747, Char Lee-Ovaldson, 87, Karen M. Manypenny, 40, and Sally Littlewolf, 31.

Bevins received 559 votes followed by Tara M. Mason, 237, Martha Williams, 75, Mike T. Smith, 62, Mike “Stink” Bevins, 37, and Paul A. Soyring, 28. The District III area covers White Earth, Pine Point, Callaway, Ogema, and Elbow Lake.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 11/26/2021 03:52