Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Kelliher Resource Center Committee Wins Beltrami Electric’s Touchstone Energy Community Award


Kelliher Resource Center Committee members (R-L) Nicole Persons, Tim Lutz and Diane Mostad accept the 2011 Touchstone Energy Community Award, along with a check for $500 from Beltrami Electric Cooperative at the Kelliher School.

Bemidji,Minn. (Dec. 13, 2011) — Beltrami Electric Cooperative has named the Kelliher Resource Center Committee the winner of the local 2011 Touchstone Energy Community Award from a great pool of worthy nominations. The recognition comes with a $500 cash award donated to a community service organization/project of choice and an engraved Touchstone Energy Community Award plaque, signifying the organization’s commitment to community.

The Kelliher Resource Center Committee is an organization that promotes the development of the building that was formerly the Kelliher School. The school district continues to own and maintain the facility to provide a central location for services necessary to the residents of Kelliher. Some of these services include health care, a wellness center, Beltrami County resources, physical therapy and a chiropractor. There are also plans to include a dentist, as well as a retail store, which is scheduled to open in the near future. Without this center, many of these services would not be available to the community’s residents.

In its eighth year, the Touchstone Energy Community Award recognizes individuals or organizations for outstanding contributions to their community. Pas winners include the Bemidji Skate & Bike Association, Bemidji Garden Club (formerly Northwoods Garden Club of the Bemidji Area), Paul Bunyan Broadcasting’s “Radiothon to End Child Abuse,” Healthy Community Healthy Kids, Blackduck Tri Sigma General Federated Women’s Club, Sexual Assault Program of the Beltrami, Cass and Hubbard Counties, and the Bemidji Area Task Force on Underage Drinking, Illegal Drug Use and Gang Activity.

The Kelliher Resource Center Committee’s application will be submitted for consideration to the statewide Minnesota Touchstone Energy Community Award committee. The statewide award recipient will be selected from numerous local award winners throughout Minnesota and the overall winner will receive $1,000 toward a community cause of choice. It will be presented in February 2012 during the Minnesota Rural Electric Association’s annual meeting in St. Paul.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 09/23/2021 19:45