Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

By Dennis Peterson
Bemidji Pioneer 

Racing season winds down


Bemidji Speedway is winding down its season and the action on the track is getting more furious with each race. Just two more weeks of points racing remain, with the Season Championships set for Aug. 28. The final event of the 2011 racing season is the annual Paul Bunyan Stampede Oct. 1-2.

Next Sunday young race fans are encouraged to bring their “Box Car” racers to the track. During intermission the young racers will be allowed on the track to race their cars for awards.

Chad Puschinsky won the initial feature of the night, outlasting the field of Pure Stock drivers and performing a backward victory lap in memory of his late father, Bill Puschinsky, who was a frequent champion at Bemidji Speedway years ago. Cory Peterson, Wade Schmidt, Joel Harvey and Tody Boyd finished out the top five.

Billy Smith claimed the Mini Stocks feature, taking control following a caution. Zach Peterson raced low in turn two to pass Andy Swartz and Ev Barrett for second place. Barrett was third, Swartz fourth and Tim Carlson fifth.

Tommy Sabraski won the Wissota Mod Four feature by a couple of car lengths, with Conrad Schwinn second, Branden Kellen third, Fran Hauber fourth and Corey Nehk fifth.

Bret Schmidt won the Wissota Super Stocks feature, picking up his second victory of the season. Tyler Kintner was second, followed by Max Dondelinger, Matt Sparby and Gary Nelson Jr.

In the Wissota Midwest Modifieds feature, Don Smith pulled away for a quarter-lap victory over Brandon Bahr. Johnson, Skyler Smith and Don Mullen rounded out the top five.

Jason Bush picked up another trophy in Hornets, finishing ahead of Joe Doti, Marcus MacMan and Lexi Galiger.

Pure Stocks

Feature - Chad Puschinsky, Cory Peterson, Wade Schmidt, JoelHarvey, Tony Boyd, Bill Chaboyea, Jay Lutgen, Bill Beaulieu

Heat 1 - C. Puschinsky, C. Peterson, B. Beaulieu, J. Harvey, Wade Schmidt

Mini Stocks

Feature - Billy Smith, Zach Peterson, Ev Barrett, Andy Swartz, Tim Carlson, Rick Watson, Andy Hanson, Becky Barrett, Jordan Thayer.

Heat 1 - E. Barrett, R. Watson, J. Thayer, Z. Peterson, A. Hanson

Heat 2 - B. Barrett, B. Smith, A. Swartz, T. Carlson

Wissota Mod Fours

Feature - Tommy Sabraski, Conrad Schwinn, Brandon Kellen, Fran Hauber, Corey Nehk, Blake Higginbotham, Tonja Stranger, Nathan Higginbotham, Mike Margl, Tom Kellen

Heat 1 - C. Schwinn, B. Kellen, F. Hauber, N.Higginbotham, T. Kellen]

Heat 2 - M. Margl, T. Sabraski, T. Stranger, C. Nehk, J. Greschill

Wissota Super Stocks

Feature - Bret Schmidt, Tyler Kintner, Max Dondelinger, Matt Sparby, Gary Nelson Jr, Dalton Carlson, Gordie Lancaster, Tal Lucken, Todd McClellan, Dale Lindell

Heat 1 - G. Nelson Jr, G. Lancaster, D. Carlson, K. Keena, T. McClellan

Heat 2 - B. Schmidt, M. Sparby, T. Kintner, D. Lindell, M. Dondelinger

Wissota Midwest Modifieds

Feature - Don Smith, Brandon Bahr, Adam Johnson, Skyler Smith, Don Mullen, Ryan Schow, Jacob Wilde, Alex Johnson, Ron Reed, Mike Johnson

Heat 1 - J. Halvorson, A. Johnson, B. Bahr, J. Wilde

Heat 2 - D. Smith, D. Plato, R. Schow, D. Lawler, R. Reed

Bemidji Hornets

Feature - Jason Bush, Joe Doti, Marcus MacMan, Lexi Galiger

Heat 1 - J. Doti, J. Bush, M. MacMan, L. Galiger


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021