Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

By Dennis Peterson
Bemidji Pioneer 

Perfect night at Speedway


There was a “buzz” in the air as fans poured into the bleachers at Bemidji Speedway Sunday night. The weather was perfect, the track was in excellent condition and the pits were full of drivers ready to battle. And to make it even more special, the drivers in the Wissota classes would be running for the right to race in the Amsoil “Race of Champions” later this summer.

Because of the race of champions the scheduled make-up feature race in the Mod Fours from two weeks ago was moved back to next Sunday.

The mini stockers were led onto the track by Tim LaVoi and Ev Barrett. LaVoi grabbed the lead and never looked back winning for the second time this summer at Bemidji Speedway. Barrett, Adam Olson, Billy Smith, and Andy Swartz trailed him across the finish line.

In what was probably one of the wildest races of the year at Bemidji Speedway the Bemidji Pure Stocks came on track led by point leader Joel Harvey on the outside and Bill Chaboyea on the pole. Chaboyea is just two points back in the standings in second place prior to this race.

Chaboyea took the initial lead but Harvey passed him. After a series of cautions because of accidents, Harvey hung on for the win and Chaboyea finished second.

In the first of the ROC qualifiers the Amsoil Wissota Mod Fours rolled onto the track led by Tyler Larson and Fran Hauber in row one. Larson pulled out in front on lap one followed by Conrad Schwinn and the two maintained their positions the rest of the race.

Larson picked up his first win of the summer at Bemidji and became the first ROC qualifier for Bemidji Speedway.

Don Smith raced high in turn four late in the race to pass both Doyle Erickson and Bret Schmidt to win the race and qualify for the ROC representing Bemidji Speedway.

The last of the ROC qualifiers was the Wissota Super Stocks which also saw the return to the Bemidji racing scene of former track champion Todd McClellan.

Gary Nelson, Jr. took the lead in the second lap, expanded his advantage to three lengths and held off Tyler Kintner.

Nelson Jr. will be the 2011 Super stock representative in the ROC from Bemidji Speedway.

Jason Bush outlasted Andy Hanson and Joe Doti to claim the feature race. Don Kolkin and Westin Ramsrud made up the top five.

Bemidji Mini Stock Feature - Tim LaVoi, Ev Barrett, Adam Olson, Billy Smith, Andy Swartz, Becky Barrett, Rick Watson, Zach Peterson, Jordan Thayer, John Aderman

Heat 1 - T. LaVoi, R. Watson, A. Swartz, B. Barrett, J. Thayer,

Heat 2 - A. Olson, B. Smith, E. Barrett, J. Aderman, Z. Peterson

Bemidji Pure Stock Feature - Joel Harvey, Bill Chaboyea, Mike McAdams, Wade Schmidt, Mark Glynn, Mike Johnson, Corey Peterson, Bill Beaulieu, Jessie Lutgen

Heat 1 - B. Beaulieu, J. Harvey, M. McAdams, B. Chaboyea, J. Lutgen

Wissota Mod Four Feature - Tyler Larson, Conrad Schwinn, Brandon Kellen, Dean Larson, Fran Hauber, Mike Margl, Tommy Sabraski, Tom Kellen, Brady LaVoi, Corey Nehk

Heat 1 - C. Schwinn, B. Kellen, N. Higginbotham, M. Margl, B. LaVoi

Heat 2 - B. Higginbotham, T. Larson, F. Hauber, T. Sabraski, T. Kellen

Wissota Midwest Modified Feature - Don Smith, Bret Schmidt, Skyler Smith, Brandon Bahr, John Halvorson, Doyle Erickson, Adam Johnson, Don Mullen, Jeff Kipka, Chris Dudley

Heat 1 - B. Schmidt, S. Smith, C. Dudley, A. Johnson, D. Mullen

Heat 2 - M. Schow, D. Erickson, B. Bahr, J. Kipka, R. Reed

Heat 3 - D. Smith, J. Halvorson, M. Bartz, D. Miller, B. Masters.

Wissota Super Stocks Feature - Gary Nelson Jr., Tyler Kintner, Andy Davey, Dalton Carlson, Bret Schmidt, Keith Keena, Todd McClellan, Dale Lindell, Brian Bernatas

Heat 1 - T. Kintner, A. Davey, D. Carlson, G. Nelson Jr, Keith Keena

Hornet Feature - Jason Bush, Andy Hanson, Joe Doti, Don Kolkin, Westin Ramsrud


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021