Red Lake Nation News - Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

By Dennis Peterson
Bemidji Pioneer 

Hot action on hot night


Monday’s second day of the Fourth of July special at Bemidji Speedway was much like Sunday’s, hot and muggy with a little bit of a breeze. The racing action was some of the best of the summer, however, with multiple lead changes in just about every race which kept the fans on the edge of their seats.

The Midwest Modifieds rolled onto the track led by Sunday’s feature winner Skyler Smith. Smith took the lead into turn one but Adam Johnson grabbed control on the last lap and held off Smith for the win.

The pure stock feature began with Cory Peterson and Keith Koski up front leading the way. Koski took the early lead with Peterson trailing and Bill Beaulieu in third. By the race’s end, however, Beaulieu made his way to the lead and earned his first feature win.

Koski, Joel Harvey, Bill Chaboyea and Chad Puschinsky made up the top five.

The mini stock feature race was all in two laps. The first lap was a four car wide battle for the lead with Billy Smith, Andy Swartz, Tim LaVoi and Rick Watson. Smith took control on that lap and raced to a big lead. The last lap had a caution and brought everyone back together for one last lap. Smith and LaVoi battled it out to the checkered flag with Smith the winner.

J.R. Doti outlasted his competitors to pick up his third win of the summer with Jordan Thayer, and Andy Hanson trailing.

From his fourth row start it was Conrad Schwinn who came out the leader with Tom Sabraski, Tyler Larson, Brandon Kellen and Mitchell Hriber trailing. Schwinn kept extending his lead while Sabraski held off Dean Larson for second. Larson took fourth with Fran Hauber fifth.

Jeff Tardy took the early lead and maintained it through a few cautions and restarts. Kevin Burdick, Tyler Kintner, Dalton Carlson and Brett Schmidt completed the top five.

Due to a lack of cars the Street race became an exhibition race between Doug Van Mill and Dustin Puffe and the two put on a great show with Puffe the winner.

The Open Wheel Summer Sizzler set for next Sunday with Nascar legend Ken Schrader has a lineup change. Instead of the Street Stocks, Pure Stocks will be run.

Monday’s Speedway Results

Wissota Midwest Modifieds Feature - Adam Johnson, Skyler Smith, Craig Larson, John Halvorson, Brandon Bahr, Darrin Lawler, Dylan Miller, Chris Dudley, Jacob Wilde, Alex Johnson

Heat 1 - C. Larson, S. Smith, B. Schmidt, A. Johnson, D. Platow

Heat 2 - C. Dudley, J. Halvorson, B. Bahr, D. Lawler, R. Reed

Wissota Mod Four Feature - Conrad Schwinn, Tom Sabraski, Dean Larson, Tyler Larson, Fran Hauber, Mike Margl, M. Hriber, T. Stranger, B. Higginbotham, T. Kellen

Heat 1 - T. Sabraski, C. Schwinn, M. Hriber, T. Larson, B.Higginbotham

Heat 2 - D. Larson, F. Hauber, B. Kellen, M. Margl, T.Kellen

Bemidji Pure Stock Feature - Bill Beaulieu, Keith Koski, Joel Harvey, Bill Chaboyea, Chad Puschinsky, Cory Peterson, Mike Johnson, Jesse Lutgen

Heat 1 - D. Koski, J. Harvey, C. Puschinsky, C. Peterson

Bemidji Mini Stock Feature - Billy Smith, Tim LaVoi, Ev Barrett, Andy Swartz, Becky Barrett, Rich Watson,

Heat 1 - T. LaVoi, Z. Peterson, B. Smith, R. Watson, A. Swartz.

Bemidji Hornets Feature - JR Doti, Jordan Thayer, Andy Hanson

No heat

Wissota Super Stock Feature - Jeff Tardy, Kevin Burdick, Tyler Kintner, Dalton Carlson, Brett Schmidt, Tristan LaBarge, Justin Haehn, Josh Anderson, Keith Keena, R.J. Roepke

Heat 1 - T. La Barge, J. Tardy, B. Schmidt, K. Burdick, RJ Roepke,

Heat 2 - T. Kintner, D. Carlson, S. Kramer, J. Anderson, J. Haehn


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 07/27/2021 18:39