Babaamaajimowinan (Telling of news in different places)

Red Lake High School Graduation 2011 P5

Twenty-Four Red Lake High School students graduated on Saturday, May 21, 2011.

The ceremony took place at the Red Lake High School and featured the Grand Entry by the Battle River Singers, with Red Lake Chairman Floyd Jourdain Jr .; Red Lake Nation VFW Color Guard members John Barrett and Earl Fairbanks; Red Lake Nation Royalty Saunders Stillday, Cedrick (Slim) Barrett, Alyss Seki, Alexis Desjarlait, TaKyan Thunder, Vincent White Jr ., Marilyn Black, Kailyn Seki, Carter Dow, Seth Glynn and Gerika Kingbird; Superintendent of Schools Brent Gish; RLHS Principal Ramona Gehlert, and Red Lake School Board Members Roy Nelson, Arnold Pemberton, Tom Barrett and Nicole Desjarlait.

Gehlert gave the welcome address, followed by Superintendent Gish, and speeches by Co-Valedictorians Billy Fineday and Michael Kingbird, Salutatorian Decotah Cloud, then the presentation of diplomas.

The Class of 2011 are: Brandon Anderson, Jessica Brown, Vanessa L. Brown, Decotah J. Cloud, Duane D. Cook Jr ., Sentel M. Crowe, David Donnell Jr ., Smantha Lee Erickson, Billy R. Fineday, Marcus Grauman, William Hardy Jr ., Jonathan J. Hardy, Terry Harris Jr ., Michael A. Kingbird, Scott M. Lussier, Maelaynia Martin, Dominic R. Nelson, Charles W. Oakgrove, Holly L. Oakgrove, Daniel Perkins Jr ., Shanise L. Rosebear, Chassity Nicole Roy, Marnelle J. Strong, and Rawlin D. White.

2012 Scholarship Recipients included Scott Lussier receiving the Paul Bunyan Scholarship; Duane Cook the Neva Rogers Scholarship; and Decotah Cloud the Beltrami Electric Scholarship.

The Junior Class Ushers were Marie Chaboyea, Edward Good, Alyss Seki and Krysta Needham.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 02/04/2024 16:01